Eun Mee Kim, Ph.D., President, Ewha Womans University

Chang-Lin Tien Distinguished Leadership Award

Yo-Yo Ma, Founder of Silkroad

President’s Leadership Award

Desi man wearing suit

The Rockefeller Foundation

Philanthropic Leadership Award

We honor Dr. Kim for her commitment to a better Korea and Asia through women and girls’ empowerment and her distinguished contributions to international development cooperation and academia.

The President’s Leadership Award will be presented to Yo-Yo Ma to recognize his work to build a more connected and inclusive world through radical cultural collaboration.

President Dr. Rajiv Shah will accept the Philanthropic Leadership Award on behalf of The Rockefeller Foundation for its commitment to sustainable development and humanitarian initiatives.


Ban Ki-moon, 2018 Chang-Lin Tien Distinguished Leadership Award recipient and eighth Secretary-General of the United Nations, will join us at the event. His priorities have been to mobilize world leaders around a set of new global challenges, from climate change and economic upheaval to pandemics and increasing pressures involving food, energy, and water. He has sought to be a bridge-builder and give voice to the world’s poorest and most vulnerable people. Ban Ki-moon currently serves as co-chair of the Ban Ki-moon Centre for Global Citizens, which seeks to empower youth and women to become active global citizens in creating a sustainable future for all.

The event will also feature the 2020-2021 Asia Foundation Development Fellows, a new generation of leaders creating change and impact. The Development Fellows program is at the heart of The Asia Foundation’s mission, bringing exceptional individuals into a powerful network of emerging leaders working to improve lives across Asia.

The President’s Leadership Council serve as advisors and ambassadors for the Foundation and offer valuable support for our leadership and exchange programs.

Thank you to our generous sponsors

Fellowship Sponsors

Chong-Moon & Reiko Lee

Amanda Minami

Leadership Sponsors


Walter J. Frost

Kahng Foundation

Bill S. Kim

Inspirational Sponsors


Glen S. Fukushima

Peter Liu

Suzanne E. Siskel

Phyllis C. Tien & D. Scott Smith


Advocate Sponsors

David D. & Sherry Arnold

Brian Byun & So Yong Park

David Coulter & Susan Weeks

Jerome & Thao Dodson

William H. Draper, II

William P. Fuller & Jennifer Beckett

Naren & Vinita Gupta


Fred Levin

Janet & Tom Montag

Judith B. Meyers


Laurence W. Berger

Ed Berkowitz

Jennifer Cabalquinto & Howard Joyce

Margaret Liu Collins


Yasuhiro Hagihara

James A. Kelly

Hee-Jung & John Moon

Jean Mou

Theresa Nelson & Associates

Nixon Peabody

Paul S. & Mary Slawson

Nicholas & Elizabeth Unkovic

Marsha J. Vande Berg


J Barroga

Gavin Blair

Cheng-Ling Chen

Badruun Gardi

Alistair N. Goodman

Raina Han

Ernest Hopkins

Chris Huang

Kim Hunter

Kathryn E. Johnson

Kathryn MacClelland

Jerry P. Martin

Pavé The Way

Mary Ann Peters

Julian C. Rhoads

John Robinson

Sachie Seneviratne

Jessica Smith

Wendy Soone-Broder

Adrianne Tong

Yuelin Yang

In-Kind Sponsors

Asian Art Museum

Modern Luxury

KDFC Radio

To learn more about sponsorship opportunities and benefits, please contact Chief Philanthropy Officer Wendy Soone-Broder at 415-743-3366 or [email protected].

Film Credits

Segment Editors

Annie Munger

Rob Fox, Foxtale Productions

Sound Editing

John Rieger

Assembling Editor

Brittany Carragher

Design & Animation


Jiahua Li

Sydney Otieno

Gabe Reyes

Stephanie Silvera

Dan Yund


GGNL Diagonal Media

6W Entertainment

Design & Animation


Jiahua Li

Sydney Otieno

Gabe Reyes

Stephanie Silvera

Dan Yund


GGNL Diagonal Media

6W Entertainment

With lives and livelihoods disrupted, leaders confront extraordinary challenges in a time of uncertainty. On September 24, 2020, The Asia Foundation presented Chairman Emeritus of the Tata Group and Chairman of the Tata Trusts Ratan Tata with the Chang-Lin Tien Distinguished Leadership Award in recognition of his philanthropic work. California Lt. Governor Eleni Kounalakis received the Visionary Leader Award and former UN Under-Secretary-General Radhika Coomaraswamy received the Lotus Leadership Award. Featured guests during “Leaders on the Frontlines: Investing in the Future” included Mariska Hargitay, Juju Chang, and Devika Bhise. The event also featured Asia Foundation Development Fellows.

On September 10, 2019 in San Francisco, The Asia Foundation presented Dr. Oyun Sanjaasuren, former president of the United Nations Environment Assembly, with the Chang-Lin Tien Distinguished Leadership Award in recognition of her extraordinary leadership and advocacy for civil and social rights, including water security, and the Honorable George P. Shultz, former U.S. Secretary of State, received a Lifetime Leadership Award. KQED’s Mina Kim served as the emcee for the evening’s program, “Leaders on the Frontlines: Mobilizing Changemakers for our Sustainable Future,” featuring the 2019 Asia Foundation Development Fellows.

On September 11, 2018 in San Francisco, The Asia Foundation honored His Excellency Ban Ki-moon for his significant leadership in international development; the legacy of Chang-Lin Tien; and the 2018 Asia Foundation Development Fellows. Award-winning broadcast journalist Sydnie Kohara emceed the evening’s program, “Leaders on the Frontlines: Asia’s Leaders of Today and Tomorrow” before an audience of political leaders, philanthropists, diplomats, and executives. A brand-new film was screened that highlighted the Fellows’ work across Asia. The evening was supported by Charles Schwab & Co., Inc., Chevron, Alibaba, H&Q Asia Pacific, and MasterCard.